Answered By: Brianna LoSardo
Last Updated: Dec 14, 2015     Views: 19

Today, the Archdiocese comprises the four counties of Bergen, Essex, Hudson, and Union. When it was founded in 1853, the Diocese of Newark encompassed all of New Jersey, which formerly had been split with the northern half in the Diocese of New York and the southern half in the Diocese of Philadelphia. As Catholicism in NJ grew, new Dioceses were formed to divide the state further.

Related Topics

Contact Us

Msgr. William Noé Field Archives & Special Collections Center
Walsh Library - First Floor
Seton Hall University
400 South Orange Avenue
South Orange, NJ 07079

(973) 761-9476